What is New in the World

One of the things that I have learned is not to put God in a Box. Even St Thomas Aquinas teaches “God who gave us the 7 sacraments is free to act outside the sacraments.” Jesus say in John 3:8-9 ” The wind blows where it wills, and you can hear the sound it makes, but you do not knows where it comes from or where it goes; so it is with everyone born of the Spirit” Jesus is telling us that there is a mystery to how God works in us and in the world. God surprises us in small ways and big ways.

I remember when I was emailing Millie in London. Millie is the lady that invited me to come to London. I had no more than 3 emails with her.  I was imaging what Millie would look like? I was thinking that Millie is short for Mildred. Mildred sounded to me like a very proper English name. I imagined Millie to be 70 year old, proper English Lady carrying a Black Purse with a Big Hat. So when I got off the plane and was hobbling with my gout. I was walking to get my bags looking for what I imagined was this Proper English Lady, when I heard a Voice Fr Stefan, Fr Stefan over here and I looked over and I saw a couple from India. I asked where she was from and she said Goa. I learned on the ride to the house that Millie is short for Milicent. Right from the bat Jesus was showing me to let go of my expectations. I tell this story because even in small things we can often be surprised.

I did have a spot of Tea with Millie, Cheers.

Love and Prayers Fr Stefan

Leave a Reply

