The Men in Black wonder about Fluffy the Cat

One of the ways that God is leading me is a great love for the animals that he has created. Believe me when I say that I am a long way off from being St Francis.One of the things that I wonder about is whether God gives a name to the animals? Does God give a name to each of the animals? I know that this is not a question that St Thomas would have thought of.

However, In the book of Genesis when God commands Adam to name the animals, does this command reflects something that God has already done in Heaven?

My question is based on two experiences that I have had. One was I was visiting a family that had recently found a newborn black kitten. The father of the family handed me the box with the little kitten. I said to the father he looks like a Whisper to me. The Father said, “Did you say Whisper?” I said “yes”.

He looks like a Whisper to me. A Whisper is something small and light. This kitten is small and light. He looks to me like a Whisper.

He went on to tell me that five years before he and his wife found a little black cat and named it Whisper. But days after finding the kitten, he was no where to be found.

The other experience was, when I was visiting a pre-school class at my parish, and they had a fish tank. The fish tank was new. The teacher asked me to name one of the fish. I went to the tank and said, “God what name have you given this fish.” I thought of the name Sally.

When the pre school kids came into the class, the teacher asked one of the students “what is the name of the fish?” A little girl went up to the tank and said, “This fish name is Sally.”

These two examples have always made me wonder, does God give a name to each of the animals that he has created.

God Bless

From one animal lover to another

Fr Stefan

Leave a Reply

