Fr Stefan Reviews David and Goliath by Malcolm Gladwell

 

I am almost done with, ‘David and Goliath Underdogs, Misfits and the Art of Battling Giants.’ I got it within hour after it came out. I enjoyed Tipping Point, Blink and Outliers.  I was  anticipating David and Goliath. 

I will not go into the themes of the other books but I will make one comment about Blink. The thesis of Blink is the Power of thinking without thinking. I bought my last car with Blink on the Mind. I remember two years ago when I was buying a new car walked into the dealership and said to sales person, “I will get that car” he said, “do you want to drive it” I said, “no need I will drive it when I purchase it.” So without even seeing the car that I bought I got it and drove my new cruze off the lot. 

The thesis of David and Goliath is that what we think as weakness are really strengths. I will give my thoughts on one chapter, ‘You wouldn’t wish dyslexia on your child would you.’ The idea in this chapter is that dyslexia is more a strength than a weakness. I would agree. I was was of those kids that had to go into the special class with the special teacher because I just could not get the material. But the strength of dyslexia is not that you have special teachers, the strength is that you are forced to think differently than everyone else, you are forced to think out the box. 

I remember my parents being so worried that I couldn’t get the material in school, I remember my first class in college and the teacher saying to me, “you are wasting your parents money being here.” 

The future will belong to those who think outside the box, the paradox is that our educational system is becoming all about the right answer being put into the right box. 

I was visiting a first grade class and I asked the kids how many of you are creative? Every kid raised his hand, later that day I was in the eight grade and asked them the same question and only two kids raised their hand. 

Creativity is a skill that every kid needs in the 21 century economy. The Creative kid will rule the world. if I saw two kids and one had no learning disabilities and other had dyslexia, I would put my money on the kid with dyslexia. 

What many consider a disability is actually a strength 

 

Leave a Reply

