Fr Stefan reflects on Sunday Jan 19 Gospel with Father Jacque Philippe

We will read this Sunday, “On whomever you see the Spirit come down and remain, he is the one who will baptize with the Holy Spirit.”(John 1:32-33)

The Dove is a symbol of peace. God is an Ocean of Peace. Jesus is the Prince of Peace. 

For my homily this Sunday, I read ‘Searching for and Maintaining Peace’ by Father Jacques Philippe. I want to share with you 3 point about peace from this little book.

First ,”Consider the surface of the lake, above which the sun is shinning. If the surface of the lake is peaceful and tranquil, the sun will be reflected in this lake, and the more peaceful the lake, the more perfectly will be it be reflected. It is a little bit like this with regard to our soul in relationship to God, The more our soul is peaceful and tranquil, the more God is reflected in it. On the other hand, if our soul is agitated and troubled the grace of God is able to act only with much difficulty.” 

Second, “In order that abandonment with be authentic and engender peace, it must be total.We must put everything, without exception, into the hand of God, not seeking any longer to manage or ‘to save’ ourselves by our own means: not in the material domain, nor the emotional, nor the spiritual…And one thing we know well: all reality that we have not surrendered to God, that we choose to manage by ourselves without giving carte blanche to God, will continue to make us more or less uneasy. The measure of our interior peace will be that of our abandonment, consequently of our detachment.”

Third, “There is never a good reason to lose our peace of soul. Even our sin should not cause us to lose our peace. Because our sin reminds us  God’s Mercy and helps to make us humble. If we never sinned we would be very proud. What is more pleasing to God? Is it when after experiencing a failure, we are discouraged and tormented, or when by saying: ‘Lord, I ask Your pardon, I have sinned again. This alas, is what I am capable of doing on my own! But I abandon myself with confidence to Your mercy, and Your pardon, I thank you for not allowing me to sin even more grievously. I abandon myself to you with confidence because I know one day you will heal me completely and, in the meantime, I ask You that the experience of my misery would cause me to be more humble, more considerate of other, more conscious that I can do nothing by myself, but that I must rely solely on Your love and Your Mercy.”

1 thought on “Fr Stefan reflects on Sunday Jan 19 Gospel with Father Jacque Philippe”

Leave a Reply

