Father Stefan reflects on Pope Francis ‘Joy of the Gospel’ The social dimension of Evangelization

Pope Francis writes, “God in Christ redeems not only the individual person, but the relations existing between men. To believe that the Holy Spirit us at work in everyone means realizing that he seeks to penetrate every human situation and all social bonds; ‘The Holy Spirit creativity proper to the the divine mind, which knows how to loosen the knots of human affairs, even the most complex and inscrutable.”

Pope Francis has a great devotion to Mary who unties knots. It is a devotion that began in Germany. Pope Francis brought this devotion to Argentina when he was archbishop. This devotion has its roots in the yes of Mary to the angel. This theology is summed up by St Irenaeus, “The good news of the truth announced by an angel  to Mary, a virgin subject to a husband, undid the evil that seduced Eve…Mary’s yes untied the knot of Eve’s no…thus the Virgin Mary became the advocate of the Virgin Eve.” 

As Mary untied the knot of Eve’s no. Mary also know how to untie the knots that we have created through sin and disobedience. As Pope Francis says, “The Holy Spirit creativity proper to the divine mind, knows how to loosed the knots of human affairs, even the most complex and inscrutable.” 

The Holy Spirit was at the Cross setting us free form the knots of sin. Cardinal Ratzinger in his Encyclical Letter, ‘God is Love’ writes, “‘How can I give you up, O Ephraim! How can I hand you over, O Israel…My heart recoils within me, my compassion grows warm and tender. I will not execute my fierce anger, I will not destroy Ephraim, for I am God and not man, the Holy One in your midst.’ (Hos 11:8-9) God’s passionate love for his people -for humanity-is at the same time a forgiving love. It is so great that it turns God against himself, his love against his justice. Here Christians can see a dim prefigurement of the mystery of the Cross: so great is God’s love for man that by becoming man he follows him even unto death, and so reconciles justice and love…His death on the cross is the culmination of that turning of God against himself in which he gives himself to order to raise man up and save him. This is love in its most radical form. By contemplating the pierced side of Christ (John 19:370 we can understand the God is Love.”

Prayer by Father Stefan

Jesus thank you for freeing me from the knots of sin on the cross. Thank you for freeing me from the knots that I have created by  own sins and disobedience. Mary I give to you all the knots that I have created. Thank you for taking them in your most loving hands and untie the knots. I trust that the precious blood of Jesus is falling upon every knot that I have created and setting me free. 

Leave a Reply

