Father Stefan reflects more on the insights of Father Bob from his book ‘Reflections of a Veteran Priest”

Every day in my prayer I ask father Bob to guide and teach me. Father Bob from an inspiration of the Holy Spirit began the Companions of the Cross. This was founded to renew diocesan priesthood.

Father Bob writes about how he was formed many years ago for priesthood, “We were given to understand that we were to meet whatever needs people might have. We were to involve ourselves in crisis response. Our was a ministry of availability. I believe we now need to see it very differently. I believe our priority as priests is to minister to what God is doing. My conviction is that this is a time of God’s special visitation. The lord is releasing the power of his Holy Spirit in our days in deeper and deeper ways. He is on the move. He is initiating things. Our task as priests has to be, I believe, to see what he is doing and support it.”

Would like to share this also from Father Bob, “Priests would live no longer in rectories attached to churches, but in community houses which could accommodate four to six regular residents. Theirs assignments (pastors, assistants, teachers, chaplain, chancery.) would be arranged in such a way that some common life (prayer, meals) would be possible for them. Houses of refreshment and healing need to be set up for priests who are exhausted, frustrated and even disillusioned. At least one priest counsellor would be resident in each house. If we do these things, God will take care of the vocation problem. We’re in a crisis. We must acknowledge it. If we take good care of our priests, God will take good care of his Church.”

The purpose of the priest is not to solve everyone problems. The priest is to point to and support whatever the Holy Spirit is doing. 

2 thoughts on “Father Stefan reflects more on the insights of Father Bob from his book ‘Reflections of a Veteran Priest””

  1. Dear Father Stefan,
    This is.a short but heartfelt response to the idea of priests living away from the parish and in some community.
    Almost 30 yrs ago my husband up expectantly left me taking our 2 children, then 3 and 1 month old. He left a note telling me he was leaving and the arrangements he made to live with his sister. I was devastated. At the time I had fallen away from the church but I absolutely KNEW it was where’d I had to go, I went to my parish church and found the doors locked. It was after hours. There was a rectory on the property but it was large and looking at it in the state of mind I was in, crushed that the church was locked and in tears at what had happened, I couldn’t figure out which door was the front door and I had been taught you alwYs go to front doors when visiting (sad how things come to mind) so not being able to decide I left still in tears, bewildered that the church was locked, and went home where I tried to mint suicise with some pills I had for asthma. Fortunately I spit them out deciding that wasn’t the answer. The one thing I knew though was I had been licked out of a place I had always turned to, even when I loved going to church. I began really angry with God, told Hi I hated him and for a full year I became a pagan. Thank God a Godly priest came into my life when I was ready to return.
    Can you imagine if the priests lived in a neighborhood where I could find a front door but have no idea of how to get there and being in such a state that if directions were posted on a church door I could not have remembered. That would have been so much worse to me. Please don’t advocate moving into a neighborhhood, while your neighbors and a few regulars may know how to find you, many may not and among them may be some who absolutely need yo… And ok sorry it was long.
    Modern rectories are large can’t what you want be accomplished in them?
    In Jesus through Mary,
    Susana

Leave a Reply

