Reflection on Mercy first reading of the day

“Thus says the LORD:
When Israel was a child I loved him,
out of Egypt I called my son.
The more I called them,
the farther they went from me,
Sacrificing to the Baals
and burning incense to idols.
Yet it was I who taught Ephraim to walk,
who took them in my arms;
I drew them with human cords,
with bands of love;
I fostered them like one
who raises an infant to his cheeks;
Yet, though I stooped to feed my child,
they did not know that I was their healer.

My heart is overwhelmed,
my pity is stirred.
I will not give vent to my blazing anger,
I will not destroy Ephraim again;
For I am God and not man,
the Holy One present among you;
I will not let the flames consume you.” (Hosea 11:1-4.8-9)

Jesus is love and mercy itself. God says, “I will not give vent to my blazing anger, I will not destroy Ephraim again, For I am God and not man.” When we are hurt we often want to hurt the other person. In a sense we want to get back at the person.

God is not like us. When we hurt God. He responds with mercy and love. God’s heart is full of mercy and love. God says, ” My heart is overwhelmed my pity is stirred.” It is because God is all powerful, full of justice that he can be merciful. Mercy comes from strength not weakness. Only the strong person can be merciful.

Jesus is full of mercy. Jesus is an ocean of mercy. Even the angels in Heaven cannot fathom the Mercy of God. Jesus said to Saint Faustina, “Write down everything that occurs to you regarding My goodness…My daughter, even if you were to speak at one an the same time in all human and angelic tongues, even than you would not have said very much, but on the contrary, you would have sung in only a small measure the praises of My goodness- of my unfathomable mercy.” (1605)

When we are merciful we most resemble God. Question of day. Where can I reflect God’s mercy in my life?

1 thought on “Reflection on Mercy first reading of the day”

  1. I enjoy reading your messages. As a sober catholic alcoholic for 23 years, I have found that 99.9 percent of the catholics I meet have never prayed the rosary. I am enclosing an essay I wrote, that they find captivating.

Leave a Reply

