Father Thomas From the Mission in India talking at all the mass, reminds me of my summer in Calcutta in 92

In the Summer of 92 I was in Calcutta. Was an exciting time. I used to walk through the streets singing.

Start spreading the news
I am leaving today
I want to be a part of it
Calcutta
These vagabond shoes
Are longing to stray
Right through the very heart of it
Calcutta
If I can make it there
I’ll make it anywhere
It’s up to you
Calcutta, Calcutta

I remember singing this song one time while walking the streets of Calcutta only to figure out one day that I could not hear anything. I said to myself, “why can’t I hear the traffic in one of the bustiest street in the world?” It was then I realized I was deaf. In Calcutta there are many make shift drug stores so I put hundred and one local remedies into my ear to see if it would help. Nothing helped. I eventually found an English doctor who put some antibiotics into my ear. That did the trick I could now hear. So experienced being deaf for 3 weeks.
Being a young man you didn’t treat scrapes or cuts. Just let nature take it course. While this might work in the United States. It was not a great policy in Calcutta in 92. I remember walking through waist deep sewer water with a huge open cut in my leg. Boy was there an infections. Started to worry. I remember trying to find some doctors. Got to the office of one Indian doctor. Only to be told by the receptionist that the doctor might be in today, if not today than certainly tomorrow, and if not tomorrow than certainly the day after that. I remember thinking to myself,”I would rather die that wait 3 days in a waiting room for a doctor that might show up.” I eventually found an Irish nurse who had medicine. The medicine cleared up the infection.
Another highlight was meeting Mother Theresa. Just watching her pray could make someone a believer. Her face glowed when she received the Eucharist. I had the honor of seeing her every day that Summer. One day I intentionally came up to her and asked if she would pray for my vocation. She said she would. It was in Calcutta that I got a call from the diocese of Arlington that I was accepted at Mount Saint Mary Seminary. So when I got back home from India I entered the seminary 1 week later.

If I can make it there
I’ll make it anywhere
It’s up to you
Calcutta, Calcutta

Calcutta, Calcutta
I want to wake up
In a city that never sleeps
And find I’m number one, top of the list
King of hill

And if I can make it there
I’m gonna make it anywhere
It’s up to you
Calcutta, Calcutta
Calcutta

Leave a Reply

