Reflection from the ‘Soul Institute’ Jan 18 Sunday first reading of the day

“Samuel was sleeping in the temple of the LORD
where the ark of God was.
The LORD called to Samuel, who answered, “Here I am.”
Samuel ran to Eli and said, “Here I am. You called me.”
“I did not call you, “ Eli said. “Go back to sleep.”
So he went back to sleep.
Again the LORD called Samuel, who rose and went to Eli.
“Here I am, “ he said. “You called me.”
But Eli answered, “I did not call you, my son. Go back to sleep.”

At that time Samuel was not familiar with the LORD,
because the LORD had not revealed anything to him as yet.
The LORD called Samuel again, for the third time.
Getting up and going to Eli, he said, “Here I am. You called me.”
Then Eli understood that the LORD was calling the youth.
So he said to Samuel, Samuel was sleeping in the temple of the LORD
where the ark of God was.
The LORD called to Samuel, who answered, “Here I am.”
Samuel ran to Eli and said, “Here I am. You called me.”
“I did not call you, “ Eli said. “Go back to sleep.”
So he went back to sleep.
Again the LORD called Samuel, who rose and went to Eli.
“Here I am, “ he said. “You called me.”
But Eli answered, “I did not call you, my son. Go back to sleep.”

At that time Samuel was not familiar with the LORD,
because the LORD had not revealed anything to him as yet.
The LORD called Samuel again, for the third time.
Getting up and going to Eli, he said, “Here I am. You called me.”
Then Eli understood that the LORD was calling the youth.
So he said to Samuel, “Go to sleep, and if you are called, reply,
Speak, LORD, for your servant is listening.”
When Samuel went to sleep in his place,
the LORD came and revealed his presence,
calling out as before, “Samuel, Samuel!”
Samuel answered, “Speak, for your servant is listening.”

Samuel grew up, and the LORD was with him,
not permitting any word of his to be without effect.
When Samuel went to sleep in his place,
the LORD came and revealed his presence,
calling out as before, “Samuel, Samuel!”
Samuel answered, “Speak, for your servant is listening.”

Samuel grew up, and the LORD was with him,
not permitting any word of his to be without effect.”

Our God is a living God who speaks to his people. However, Samuel is asleep and doesn’t recognize the voice of the Lord. The Lord calls him three times, but he doesn’t recognize the voice of God. However, Eli understands that it is God who is calling the young man. Eli tells the young Samuel, “Go to sleep, and if you are called, reply, Speak, Lord, for your servant is listening.”

Samuel is an image of of both every Christian and the Church. At times the Body of Christ needs to be awaken by the living God. Like Samuel at the beginning of the reading he could not hear the voice of the Lord. Eli is an image of the Church. Anyone, who thinks that they only need their bible to hear God, and not the Church will be mislead eventually. The Church confirm what the persons believes God spoke to them. The Church sometimes is also asleep, and needs a saintly person to awaken the Church.

Samuel is an image of the charismatic Church, and Eli is an image of the hierarchical Church. They form one Church. The Holy Spirit speaks to both the individual Christian, and the hierarchical Church.

St Francis heard God speaking to him one day in prayer, “Francis Francis rebuild my Church for it is falling apart.” Francis went to Rome to see the pope to confirm that he had heard correctly the voice of the Lord. The Pope gave Francis and his followers his blessing.

Thoughts for the day: Are you sleeping in your walk with God? Do You need to be awaken? Are you able to hear the voice of the Lord? Are you humble enough to submit to the authority of the Church?

Prayer for the day
Holy Spirit stir us up out of our sleep
Holy Spirit help me to hear the voice of Jesus in my life
Holy Spirit give me the humility to know that I can be mislead
Holy Spirit thank you for giving me the Church to guide and teach me
Speak Lord for here I am Lord I come to do your will

2 thoughts on “Reflection from the ‘Soul Institute’ Jan 18 Sunday first reading of the day”

  1. Thank you for sharing this. Some people don’t like getting woken up, and that can be difficult to deal with. I thought of this song when I read your reflection. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sbdJXKqVgtg
    “Build Your Kingdom Here” by Rend Collection.
    The Lyrics say “Holy Spirit come invade us now. We are your Church, we need Your power in us.”

Leave a Reply

