Reflection from ‘Soul Institute” Make Love Your Aim and Eagerly Strive For The Spiritual Gifts 1 Cor 14:1

As I went to bed. I was reflecting on the relationship between Charisms and Charity. St Paul has 2 famous chapters on gifts of the Holy Spirit. Chapter 12 and 14 in his first letter to the Corinthians. In the middle chapter, is chapter 13 St Paul litany to love. As I was waking up it struck me that for the Charisms to develop in us we have to grow in charity towards ourselves and other. What does this mean? It means many things such as, no longer blaming anyone else for our crosses, no longer desiring to get back at another, this means no longer the need to justify ourselves, have the person who hurt us acknowledge the pain they have caused. Charity means that you put your faith in God and His Love For you. Charity for others is to pray for others, especially the person who has hurt us, and to wish them blessing. Charisms are gifts of the Holy Spitit not meant for us but meant for the Body of Christ. The soil that charisms grow in is Charity and Love. Only the person who desires to love with the love of Christ will develop and flurish in the gifts of the Holy Spirit. As I woke this morning, felt the Holy Spirit placed this thought on my heart. Thought for the day, do you pray for an outpouring of the gifts of the Holy Spirit for yourself, the success of this prayer is connected to your abilily to love. Charity is the good ground for the seed of the charisms to grow. Fr Stefan thought for the day

2 thoughts on “Reflection from ‘Soul Institute” Make Love Your Aim and Eagerly Strive For The Spiritual Gifts 1 Cor 14:1”

  1. In my heart I have forgiven people who have hurt me. I understand I don’t necessarily have to do business with them, or exist in their toxic environment. I pray for them. It is as if you are targeting my prayers Fr. Stefan. It’s PSYCHO! It’s Mystical. Blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

