New assignment chaplain at Fairfax hospital reflection from the ‘Soul Institute’

Less than a week ago I got a call from the diocese that I was the new chaplain at Fairfax Hospital. It took me a few days just to let it sink in. I am happy here and live with great priests. But trusting in God’s Will I immediately was reflecting on my new assignment.

There are two things that came to me in prayer. I would like to share them with you. I remembered reading an article about a priest who went into a hospital to anoint a dying man. The priest said in the article how all the doctors and nurses were so kind to him as he walked through the door. The priest thought to himself, ‘What makes this hospital so different from every other hospital?’ The priest inquired about this to the chaplain at the hospital. The priest chaplain told him that when he came he made it know that he was not the chaplain for the patients only, but also for the doctors, nurses, staff and volunteers at the hospital. That is one thing I plan to do. I plan to make it know that I am the chaplain for everyone who works or helps at the hospital.

What does this mean? It means many things such as: having days of reflection for the doctors, nurses, staff and volunteers at the hospital. It means that I am available to everyone who is helped or associated with the hospital.

Second point. Last Thursday I anointed a lady at Fair Oaks Hospital. When I anoint people I often ask them to offer their suffering for some intention. Fulton Sheen said once, “One of the greatest tragedies is wasted suffering.” It struck me again that the hospital is a power house of grace. I plan on creating several different types of holy cards for different groups in the hospital. There will be a holy card that I can hand families having a difficult pregnancy. The prayer on the holy card will help them offer their suffering for a sick baby. There will be holy cards to help people offer their suffering for the grace of vocations to priesthood and religious life. There will be holy cards for people to offer their suffering for healing of young mothers with cancer. We will see how many graces will flow from people who are helped to offer their suffering to Jesus to obtain many blessing, graces and healing.

Pray for me. I loved the priests and people here at St Timothy. Pray for me that I will be a holy chaplain at the hospital. Pray for all the sick babies, mothers, fathers, boys and girls, woman and men who are currently in the beds at all the hospitals in the world.

12 Comments

  1. Dear Father Stefan, I am so sad to hear that you will leave St. Timothy, but I am very happy for Fairfax hospital.    I will pray for you, Father Stefan.  I know for sure that you will be a holy chaplain. Thank you so very much for everything, Father.  Very Respectfully,Trinh   From: Let the Fire Fall To: trinhnguyenphan@yahoo.com Sent: Sunday, June 7, 2015 5:59 AM Subject: [New post] New assignment chaplain at Fairfax hospital reflection from the ‘Soul Institute’ #yiv4359211246 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv4359211246 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv4359211246 a.yiv4359211246primaryactionlink:link, #yiv4359211246 a.yiv4359211246primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv4359211246 a.yiv4359211246primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv4359211246 a.yiv4359211246primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv4359211246 WordPress.com | Father Stefan posted: “Less than a week ago I got a call from the diocese that I was the new chaplain at Fairfax Hospital. It took me a few days just to let it sink in. I am happy here and live with great priests. But trusting in God’s Will I immediately was reflecting on my ne” | |

  2. Thanks for your healing ceremonies, Father, and good luck with your new assignment. I am still fighting pancreatic cancer but maybe through the chemo I am on, and the prayers of many people in my parish and beyond I will be able to overcome it.
    I know the patients and staff at Fairfax Hospital will welcome you, and gain much from your ministry.

  3. This newest assignment is so much in line with your passion for healing – healing masses, healing prayers, your strong believe in the healing powers of the Holly Spirit. May God continue to guide you and your work.

    Blessings,

    Juani Diaz

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  4. Dear Fr. Stefan: Such a great response to your new assignment and a solid strategy for your new ministry. May God’s grace and love continue to guide you to fulfill His will in all your endeavors.
    Lovingly yours in Christ,
    Theresa Morgan
    Brevard, NC

  5. I prayed for you when you were my priest at St. Mary of Sorrows, especially when you would forget to turn on your microphone. I will continue to pray for you now. Your assignment is exciting and filled with many opportunities some of which you already have recognized. Was it St. Ignatius who said, “Work like everything depends on you, pray like everything depends on God”. Ray Bernero

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®4

  6. Father Stefan,
    I am so sorry to see you leave St. Timothy’s. My husband and I enjoy your homilies, your Mass,
    your upbeat personality. You are irreplaceable. You have inspired us in many ways. May God Bless you in your new assignment and may your presence touch those in need and may you be an inspiration to all those that you encounter in the same way that you have touched all at St. Timothy’s.
    Love and Peace,

Leave a Reply

