Reflection on Sunday Gospel June 14 The Seed is the word of God, the Kingdom’ ‘Soul Institute’

Jesus tells us, “This is how it is with the kingdom of God; it is as if a man were to scatter seed on the land and would sleep and rise night and day and through it all the seed would sprout and grow, he knows not now.” (Mk 4: 26-28)

About eight years ago I was in a hotel right across the street from the Church were Jesus revealed his Sacred Heart to Saint Margaret Mary. I had a lot on my mind. I was filled with anxiety and worry. When I woke up I heard these words spoken to me, “The farmer plants the seed it grows he knows not now.” For me that was so comforting. Only years later did I realize that these comforting words were spoken by Jesus himself in today Gospel.

The seed of the Kingdom of God grows in ways that defy human expectations and calculations. If Jesus calls something into being He simply ask us to do what we can and trust in Him.

Pope Francis in Joy of the Gospel writes “Faith also means believing in God, believing that he truly loves us, that he is alive, that he is mysteriously capable of intervening, that he does not abandon us and that he brings good out of evil by his power and his infinite creativity. It means believing that he marches triumphantly in history with those who, ‘are called and chosen and faithful. (Rev 17:14) Let us believe the Gospel when it tells us that the kingdom of God is already present in this world and is growing, here and there, and in different ways: like the SEED which grows into a great tree, (Mt 13:31-32)like the measure of leaven that makes the dough rise (Mt 13;33) and like the good SEED that grows amid the weeds (Mt 13: 24-30) and can always pleasantly surprise us.”

“The Kingdom is here, it returns, it struggles to flourish anew. Christ’s resurrection everywhere calls forth SEEDS of that new world; even if they are cut back, they grow again, for the resurrection is already secretly woven into the fabric of this history, for Jesus did not rise in vain. May we never remain on the sidelines of this march of living hope!.Because we do not always see these seeds growing. we need an interior certainty, a conviction that God is able to act in every situation, even amid apparent setbacks: ‘We have this treasure on earthen vessels.’ (2 Cor 4:7) This certainty is often called ‘a sense of mystery.’ It involves knowing with certitude that all those who entrust themselves to God in love will bear good fruit. (Jn 15:5)”

“The Holy Spirit works as he wills, when he wills and where he wills; we entrust ourselves without pretending to see striking results. We know only that our commitment is necessary…Keeping our missionary fervor alive calls for firm trust in the Holy Spirit, for it is he who ‘helps us in our weakness.’ (Rom 8:26) But this generous trust has to be nourished, and so we need to invoke the Spirit constantly. He can heal whatever causes us to flag in the missionary endeavor.”

“It is true that this trust in the unseen can cause us to feel disoriented; it is like being plunged into the deep and not knowing what we will find. I myself have frequently experienced this. Yet there is no greater freedom than that of allowing oneself to be guided by the Holy Spirit, renouncing the attempt to plan and control everything to the last detail, and instead letting him enlighten, guide and direct us, leading us wherever he wills. The Holy Spirit knows well what is needed in every time and place. This it what it means to be mysteriously fruitful.”

Prayer for the day

Holy Spirit give me an interior certainty that you will work in every circumstance.
Holy Spirit water the seed of grace in me.
Holy Spirit I give you permission to bear fruit in me.
Holy Spirit I know that you call me to have courage.
Holy Spirit fill me with courage
Holy Spirit give me a firm trust that you help me in my weakness.
I give you control over my life.
I will not longer plan everything to that last detail
But I allow you Holy Spirit to give me what is needed in every time and place and to make me fruitful

1 Comment

  1. Once again a beautiful prayer. Will you continue your messages when you move to your new assignment? I hope so.

Leave a Reply

