Father Stefan working on Pentecost Homily Working notes

Second reading ” Now there are varieties of gifts but the same Spirit and there are varieties of services, but the same Lord; and there are varieties of activities, but it is the same God who activates all of them….For just as the body is one and has many members, and all the members of the body though many, are one body, so it is with Christ.” ( 1 Cor 11)

St Elizabeth of the Trinity says “I am convinced that all the treasures within the Soul of Christ are mine and I am infinitely rich.”

St Therese the Little Flower writes “Since you have loved me, o my God to the point of giving me your only-begotten Son to be my Savior and Spouse. The infinite treasures of his merits are mine. I offer them to you joyfully beseeching you to look at me only through the face of Jesus and in His Heart burning with Love.”

Eph 3:8 “The infinite riches of Christ”

St Therese ‘Your riches are mine My Beloved. My King”

Jesus said to St Catherine of Siena ” I distribute the virtues quite diversely. I do not give all of them to each person. But some to one, some to others. I have given many gifts and graces, both spiritually and temporal with such diversity that I have not given everything to one single person so that you may be constrained to practice charity towards one another. I have willed that one should need another and that all should be my ministers in distributing the graces and gifts they have received from me.”

John Gresham in his book ‘Holy Spirit Present Among us’ writes “And while St Paul frequently associates charisms with the Holy Spirit he uses trinity language to fully describe these manifestations of grace. St Paul associates these gifts with the Spirit, the Son and the Father.

Despite the variety of gifts (Charismata) of Holy Spirit. They are works of the Spirit. Then St Paul refers to Jesus Christ by the title ‘Lord’ and refers to these gifts as varied services and ministries of One Lord.

So when a Christian exercies a charism of healing and through prayer and gift of Holy Spirit someone receives healing. That is the healing ministry of Jesus Christ working through His Church. The energy of God, His work of redeeming creation is performed through the ministry of His Son, Our Lord Jesus Christ continuing in the Church through the outpouring of gifts from the Holy Spirit.”

‘These Gifts are like presents’

‘They originate in the generous love of God who pours out a rich and multiplicity if gifts upon his people through the original gift and gives the Holy Spirit’

1 thought on “Father Stefan working on Pentecost Homily Working notes”

Leave a Reply

